Skip to content

Gorham “Regalta” White Wine Crystal glasses

September 18, 2020

Big Old Money Antiques & Vintage

Setting the perfect “old money” table.

As practically anyone in the old money world will tell you – meals are everything. They help to break up the day – give us an excuse to get together, give us an excuse to dress and are a part of our culture. And even if the meal is something you’ve “ordered”, puchased at a “take-away” or in some cases have gone to the local salad bar (when we had them) – you can still entertain the hoity toity polloy in grand style. And no one – not even cook – need know that you took a shortcut. Most of us trying to hold down one to three jobs – don’t have the luxury of time to cook as they did back in the day – or the help to do it.

In this blog I wanted to share with you my very, very recent acquisition. I’d been on my way to Rockaway for the town-wide garage sale. These types of sales are great for acquiring the Big Old Money Antiques and Vintage loot as many people are unaware of the value of the items they are selling – very often left to them by a relative or something they had in the attic. They don’t know the value and that’s where you come in.

I’d gone all around Rockaway but couldn’t find the sales. I had a friend on my carphone and so I was distracted. On the way home I was feeling rather sorry for myself having taken the long trip – and what to my wondering eyes should appear – but a table outside a barn and large “garage sale” sign. I quickly ended my conversation with my dear friend who’s living on Sutton Place and dealing with the virus there. I told him I’d spotted crystal. He knew the drill.

I quickly hung up the call and went inside the barn where some septuagenarians were seated – talking, and gossiping. I saw two nice champagne glasses, but what I really wanted were the six white wine glasses I’d spotted outside. I figured I’d use them when I didn’t want to use the really good crystal for my guests.

I asked one of the ladies, “how much for the glasses outside.” Notice how I didn’t say “vintage crystal.” She replied, “It’d be 6 bucks. And another 3 for the two champagne glasses yer holding.” I promptly gave her the cash (they mostly only take cash) and thanked them for the white wine glasses. I didn’t realize they were “Gorham” until I got home. The stickers still on them – they are new and unused. I went to www.replacements.com where I discovered the pattern “Regalta” has been retired and they retail at 23.94 a glass. Not bad. 6.00 for 200. in crystal! Replacements is an excellent place to see what the value of your silverware, china and crystal might be worth – and as an added incentive – they do buy items from you – depending on the share and demand of the item.

So the next time you’re out thrifting – do yourself a favor and pick up a few crystal glasses – you won’t be sorry or heartbroken if they do get damaged, and your boxed wine (joking – or am I?) is bound to taste much better in the glass. Why this shape for white wine – that’s another conversation all together. Now off to try and find some red! Happy hunting, dear reader!

Gorham “Regalta” White Wine Glass
Collection of Gorham Crystal Glasses (White Wine and Champagne)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment