Skip to content

Big Money Find at Antique Shop for $22.00

September 29, 2020

How to develop an eye for art so you can pick out the winners

This question is often asked of me, “How do I develop an eye for art?” In the world of Big Old Money – let’s just say there is art hanging around any well appointed home. It’s a gentle nod to the centuries of artwork passed down through the generations. But what if you don’t have those inheritances (always my beef). Maybe you don’t come from old family or money – or maybe Aunt Bedelia squandered the old masters collection on a Lothario she picked up in Bora Bora whilst following the Spring?

The best way I feel you can develop an “eye” for art is to go to museums and art books and websites, here’s a good one http://www.moma.org and study the artwork.

I’ve been lucky enough to tell you that most of the art I have collected over the years is by artists who also have art that is hanging in a museum somewhere. I developed my eye by being ensconced in artwork since my early years as a junior member of the Salmagundi Club in NYC. (http://www.salmagundi.org) Here I hung with contemporary artists (no pun intended) and sup with them and wined with them and learned all about art, artists, tasted and smelled the paint between my fingers. I guess it helped.

But let’s get to the subject at hand, shall we? What I meant to share with you today is a collection of lithographs which I purchased at an antique store for 22.00. The collection is called, “The Peddlers” It is a set of 4 Antique Prints hand-colored as noted on the sticker by artist Vernei.

I really liked the illustrations of these hardworking men. Old money prides itself on hard work – which builds character. How many a billionaire would sit with me in the parlor of a clubhouse recounting the days when they were poor and worked themselves up from nothing. Nothing being the operative word. One man’s nothing is “3 million dollars inherited from Daddy” to someone else, but I digress. Here we have these pieces. Why are they only 22 dollars? Hmmm. The answer required research.

The answer lies in the way the artist’s name was spelled on the sticker. A simple typo. The artist is NOT “Vernei” but “Vernel.”

This made a world of difference. I was able to determine that each lithograph was worth about $200. So this collection is worth $800. And further I was also able to find out that a similar set exists in Gracie Mansion – the home of the Mayor of New York City.

These little tidbits of information can be quite useful in the world of Big Old Money. And when a guest asks (and they will ask) how you came by it – you can tell them the truth or invent a delicious tale which may or may not be true. Never ask a novelist – because we tend to embellish.

If there’s anything I write about that you want – everything is for sale. But unfortunately I won’t be parting with it for the bargain at which I found it. But I figured I’d put it out there just in case your mansion is crying for a Vernel piece. Eventually I’ll show you a hand painted tile I bought for five dollars which was also similar to one in Ronald Regan’s collection and sold for $5,000 years ago at Christies auction house. Salvation Army’s loss was my gain. There was no ticket on the tile – so I let the cashier determine the cost and smiled when she said, “I’m going to have to charge you the five dollars.” I gladly put the money in her hand. She told me that I would not be able to return it. And I replied, “once I remove this item from your store, and into my hot little hands, you will never see it again.” But of course she might in this blog or at auction.

I think I write these articles to give you hope. Your shabby little flat – can be fabby and fine and have everyone guessing where your money comes from. They needn’t know if you’re working at minimum wage at a greasy spoon or a gal/guy Friday saving every dime and waiting for your next big break. Take this knowledge and make your own breaks.

I think it’s best to keep the world guessing. And for your five dollars – a $4, 595.00 profit is more than most people will make on their investments unless of course you bought Amazon stock back in the day. And a $22.00 investment with a $778.00 profit is not to be dismissed!

And now I’ve gone on and your tea and scones with clotted cream have gone cold. Sorry.

I’ll leave you with this, Archimedes once said, “Give me a place to stand, and I will move the earth.” I suppose, in some small way, I’m trying to give you a place to stand – what you do with this knowledge (and I hope you’ll do great things) is entirely up to you.

Best,

Richard

Photo by Daniel Barnes on Unsplash

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment