Skip to content

Latest Find: Waterlilies at Giverny – off to Christie’s Auction House!

January 18, 2021

As I mentioned in my last post, I saw this painting from across the room at a charity shop I frequent and had to have it. But is this Monet? The signature is unclear, but the auction house numbers on the back are not. So I plunked down the asking price and away we went. Perfectly perfect for your old money house collection – notice the photograph of a similar painting at The Rockefeller’s house before they sold it. Although smaller, and maybe not authentic (waiting on a response from Christie’s Auction House) we shall enjoy it all the more. Thank you Claude – for inspiring this piece drawn from that lovely pond, so very many years ago. This painting has gone off to Christie’s Auction house (at their suggestion) so soon we will know the truth of it!

Monet Water Lillies hand above the landing at the Rockefeller’s house.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment