Skip to content

Latest find! Two 1950’s Diner Chairs for your big old money mansion or stylish hovel

October 2, 2020

I was driving by a house that was up for sale, and outside near the curb among many other household items I spotted two old “diner” type chairs with chrome legs. The vinyl was ripped and the legs were rusty – but I did see potential. The sign nearest them read “FREE”, always my favorite price. Without so much as a second to spare I popped them into the trunk of my trusty Jeep Renegade.

1950’s Diner Chairs with ripped vinyl upholstery
Nasty rip with rusty legs

Touted mid-century as one of the most practical dinette sets ever seen, the chairs would’ve come with an “extension table” at 30-by-42 inches closed and 30-by-54 inches with the additional leaf in place. There was no table present or I’d have grabbed it!

The table would be all metal — which meant no warping or cracking or becoming unglued and plastic top, very serviceable. Legs on table and frames of the chairs were handsomely chrome plated. The form-fitting seats and backs on the chairs came in a variety of vinyl covered “leatherette” material – which was easy to clean and stain resistant.

Designed for the breakfast room or dinette – this furniture was for everyday use, not formal dining. This may have been in that little room off the kitchen where Cook was or even in the smallish eat-in area of your household help’s quarters.

Many of us did eat our special meals on such tables and chairs. And those who were raised by Nanny may easily have spent many hours in her kitchen (watching soaps?).

The chrome-legged table, with their leatherette vinyl covers — and Formica top, got used every day, in every way. And to find two chairs – such a bargain!

Cut to today – these chairs would fit nicely in your old money decor apartment – no matter how small. They fit the criteria in that they are decades old and can tell a story. They also fit the budget.

I was able to clean the rust off of the legs using soapy water, Coca Cola (yes Coca Cola) and tin foil. I then found some chrome cleaner I had in the shed back from the days when I motored around in a 1986 Cadillac Coupe De Ville Sedan (the trunk was so useful for picking up antiques – I could fit anything in there!).

I then went to Joanne Fabrics (joann.com) and was able to find what I felt was a kitschy looking pattern and some trim. I also added batting and purchased a staple gun and a few tubes of fabric glue.

For a relatively small investment (about 10. a chair – not including the staple gun which I figure I can use on other projects) I created two chairs which might easily retail at 300. each. Diner chairs are hot right now. Wayfair is selling them at 135. a piece. But for the more stylized you can fetch higher prices. And now for the great reveal:

I had to switch out the trim as I didn’t have enough and Walmart (Walmart.com) had the rolls for less in this style (by simplicity.com)
I was able to find some chair caps at Walmart (Walmart.com) that did the job nicely.

So if you have the skills (and it doesn’t seem that hard) you too can create this design or one of your own. And if you do – please drop me a line of where you found it, what you did with it and a pic so we all can see and be inspired!

Thanks for reading and happy hunting!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment