Skip to content

Water Lillies at Giverny Painting – Monet?

December 31, 2020
Water Lillies painting at Giverny

This doesn’t happen very often – but probably more often to me than to most people. I was meandering through the charity shop – as I often do on my day off – looking for the odd china piece I’m missing from a collection, or an antique chair or some odd and end that would belong to “The Manor Born” or so we would say – big old money.

Suddenly from across the room this painting caught my eye. I had to see it up close. I raced across the room and discovered – this was a well -executed piece – in the style of…dare I say, Monet? The asking price was low – and the frame alone was worth it – so I promptly took this piece to the cash register and made the purchase.

The artist’s name is somewhat vague toward the bottom of the right hand side. But I remember seeing similar pieces (Monet) in my college Art History class. But whatever the case – this is just the kind of item you would find in the home of the old money rich. And if it turns out to be Monet – well the last one like this sold for a cool 43 million.

But of course old money never would know because it would never sell. Until the money goes. And it always goes.

Until next time, happy hunting dear readers – and if you see something like this – my advice, grab it!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment