Skip to content

Latest FIND! Vintage Pop Art Frozen Moments Spaghetti Sculpture with Noodles, Plate and Fork

October 15, 2020

As I was wandering through sale after sale at a town-wide garage sale I came across this odd looking sculpture. Did it fit in with my “old-money” aesthetic?

The sculpture was of a fork suspended in air over a bowl of pasta. Definitely a conversational piece. I examined the sticker – made in 1978. That gives us some age and could help with a backstory. Definitely eclectic and not something you see every day.

I gave the vendor the asking price (less than 10.00) and took it home. Yes it was dusty. I bathed the sculpture in the sink with some dish detergent and very lightly washing and dabbed it dry with paper towels.

After a little research I discovered the Australian artist, Geoffrey Rose and found that one of his sculptures sold at auction for $1,200 last year (a suspended paint brush). I also found some similar sculptures of the piece I had acquired selling for 299.00 on eBay!

Goodness me! Another old money find. Do I keep it? Do I sell it? Another problem is – that on my low-carb diet I do not eat much pasta, so having this sculpture near me – made me think it was left over pasta – and increased my appetite (I love love pasta).

So into a box it goes until I either open my own shop, sell it to you or help to furnish an “old money” home.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment